Tiny Desk (Dwelling) Live performance: Canada’s Unimaginable ARC Ensemble Performs Music by Ukrainian Jewish Composer Dmitri Klebanov


The Tiny Desk is working from dwelling for the foreseeable future. Introducing NPR Music’s Tiny Desk (dwelling) concert events, bringing you performances from throughout the nation and the world. It’s the identical spirit — stripped-down units, an intimate setting — only a completely different house.

in article 1

Tom Huizenga | Might 11, 2022
The conflicts between Russia and Ukraine attain far and huge, even deep into this Tiny Desk (dwelling) live performance carried out by the ARC Ensemble — artists from Canada’s Royal Conservatory in Toronto. They provide music by the uncared for composer Dmitri Klebanov, a Ukrainian Jew whose profession was sidelined by the Stalin regime when his First Symphony was denounced in 1949.

Klebanov wrote his Fourth String Quartet — from which the ensemble performs excerpts — three years earlier. He devoted it to his compatriot, the composer Mykola Leontovych who, as a Ukrainian separatist, was murdered by the Soviet secret police in 1921.

The opening motion will sound acquainted. Klebanov riffs on a Leontovych melody finest identified within the West because the Christmas chestnut “Carol of the Bells.” The glowing second motion, performed largely in pizzicato, once more attracts from a Leontovych tune, this time impressed by the Hungarian bagpipe. Pay attention for the wheezy drone within the viola.

To introduce the ultimate, folks music-inspired part, cellist Tom Wiebe remembers tales from his Ukrainian grandfather. As a musician, he shaped an ensemble of string gamers who caught collectively by the Russian Revolution and the next civil struggle. They even performed, reluctantly, for Soviet Purple Military troopers who occupied their village. Wiebe’s dad and mom left Ukraine within the Twenties and settled in Canada.

The ARC Ensemble dedicates this efficiency to the folks of Ukraine.

Dmitri Klebanov: String Quartet No. 4

I. Allegro Moderato
III. Scherzando
IV. Allegro

ARC Ensemble: Artists of the Royal Conservatory, Canada

Erika Raum: violin
Marie Bérard: violin
Steven Dann: viola
Tom Wiebe: cello

Video: Suave Hupa, Tom Bellisario
Audio: Tom Bellisario
Editor: Peter Turek
Director: James Murdoch
ARC Inventive Director: Simon Wynberg

Producer: Tom Huizenga
Video Producer: Joshua Bryant
Audio Mastering: Josh Rogosin
Tiny Manufacturing Staff: Bob Boilen, Bobby Carter, Kara Body, Michael Zamora, Maia Stern, Ashley Pointer
VP, NPR Music: Keith Jenkins
Senior VP, Programming: Anya Grundmann


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here